The Monuments Men

The Monuments Men by Robert M. Edsel

I finished The Monuments Men yesterday night. After six days of reading it, I was really happy to be finally finished with it. Not because I didn’t like it, but because it took me through a journey of various mens lives when they were in the army during World War II. First, I recommend that you read it even if you aren’t a history buff. You will learn a lot about art that had been stolen during WWII by the Nazis and Hitler. Second, reading this book from start to finish is hard to put down. The only reason that it took me six days is because I was sick with a sinus infection and have had to watch my nephew. Once you get into this book, it is really hard to put down. Third, you learn not only a lot about art, but about a section of the army that has never been praised and deserves to be. These men are true heroes for finding the stolen art and were not even praised for it until later in life.

I’m hoping you pick up this book and read it. Once you read you can watch the movie and see where the movie came from. If you read it, take your time and let it capture you. Like it did me.

Serenity

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Reading, Reviews

Leave a Reply

