To cover or not?

Hello everyone,

Well you’re probably wondering, ‘what the heck is she talking about?’ I’m talking about hardcover books and their paper covers. I’m a person that does not like to have the paper covers on the books. Why? Well, in the end you will have to throw them away. When I buy hardcover books from the library and they still have the paper covers on them, I find they are torn up and I have to take them off. I don’t typically like the paper covers on the hardcover books. I think it is a waste of paper in my opinion. I also don’t get why used book stores like hardcover books with their paper covers on it. There are plenty of paperback books in worse condition and they want a paper cover on a hardcover in a really good condition? It makes no sense to me. Anyway, what is your opinion and are you for or against paper covers?

Serenity

2 thoughts on “To cover or not?

  1. I just came across your blog through my reader and thought I’d contribute.

    Personally, I don’t like the “paper covers” either. I usually don’t like the way they look and more often than not they’re annoying when reading and wear and tear extremely fast. Thing is, they are (or were) actually there for a reason. They’re called dust jackets and their use is to protect the actual book cover. I found this an interesting read:
    http://ux.stackexchange.com/questions/54116/the-reasoning-behind-book-dust-jacket-while-there-is-a-hardcover

    • Thank you for the link. I read it and thought it very informative. I totally forgot that the paper covers are called dust jackets. *slaps head* I can’t believe I forgot that. Thanks for correcting me and thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

