The Art and Science of Culinary Preparation

716L9uYwuWL

Title: The Art and Science of Culinary Preparation by Jerald W. Chesser

Category: Nonfiction, Cooking, Culinary Arts

Review: First, The Art and Science of Culinary Preparation is a textbook for chefs-in-training. I obtained it when I was in a program for Culinary Arts. Unfortunately, I never finished the program and I never got to finish this book until now. This is a very well-written book for the future chef and anyone who interested in the Culinary Arts.

This book is divided into a few sections. It goes over the history and health issues in one section. In another, it goes over the basics of cooking which includes things like: food, types of preparation, knives and types of utensils, stocks, etc… Then it covers things like making your own sausage, pate’, aspics, cutting poultry and meat, baking, frosting (an entire chapter on it), cakes, etc… It is a very informative book.

I think the only negative I can think is that it is a bit boring. It took me a while to read it because it is a textbook and textbooks are typically boring and take a while to read. However, I learned a lot and my love of cooking and the Culinary Arts has been revived. I recommend this for those who are interested in the Culinary Arts. It is a book that was written in 1992 and you can probably find it pretty cheap on Amazon or a used book site. Definitely take a look at it if you are interested in the Culinary Arts.

Rating: ****

Leave a Reply

