Lenin, Stalin, and Hitler

41jeprk7-BL

Title: Lenin, Stalin, and Hitler by Robert Gellately

Category: Nonfiction, History, World War II, Europe

Review: This was a very well-written book and I learned a lot that I did not know before. I have learned a lot about Hitler from several books, however, I have been neglected (or have neglected myself) of information about Lenin and Stalin.

The first thing you need to know about this book is that it is over 500 pages! So unless you are going to have a few hours to yourself, it is going to take you a few days to read it. It did me, simply because I have been a very busy lady lately. It is divided in several sections. The first starts with the beginnings of the three (of course). I already knew about Hitler’s beginnings, but I was very interested when I learned about Lenin and Stalin. I was also interested about how Russia became a Communist nation. The author does not miss anything and he is very explanatory in everything.

The period that is mostly covered is from 1918-1945. Though years before are mentioned, but these years are mostly focused on. These are the revolutionary years and the years which are most troubled and changed in the countries that the leaders have occupied.

This book will keep you interested from beginning to end. It puts you in the mind of the leaders that are being discussed and I have discovered and learned more than I thought I would. I am glad I bought this book. These three are often thought of as very evil and bad leaders. This book will definitely open your eyes.

Rating: *****

Leave a Reply

