Nixon and Kissinger

514pQNfTiSL

Title: Nixon and Kissinger by Robert Dallek

Category: Nonfiction, History, Memoir

Review: So Nixon and Kissinger was not one of my favorite reads. It took me a long time to get through it. It just did not keep me interested. I don’t know if it was the way the author wrote or if it was the fact that the relationship between the two men seemed boring to me, I just couldn’t seem to get into this book.

The book started giving a background on the two men. It tells of the childhoods of both Nixon and Kissinger up to their college years and on up till when they get into the White House together. It then goes on into the years where they have to deal with the Vietnam War, which is a big part of the book. Apparently, both men had to deal with the Vietnam War. It was left to them from the other presidency. So there was a big focus on that in the book.

The author spoke about jealousy between the two men at times. Kissinger won the Nobel Peace Prize and Nixon was pretty pissed off at that. The only thing I did really find interesting was the Watergate Scandal. I have been wanting to read about it and he did highlight some information about the Watergate Scandal and how the president acted during the time. Apparently, Nixon needed mental boosting from his staff all along during that time.

My thoughts on this book are that it is a book that highlights the relationship between two men: Nixon and Kissinger. However, I feel that it doesn’t solely focus on both men. There are also others involved and mentioned. It also doesn’t get you interested that you want to keep reading. If you are one of those who are interested in reading about Nixon, I would get this from your local library first.

Rating: **

Leave a Reply

