H.P. Lovecraft Classic Stories

Title: H.P. Lovecraft Classic Stories

Author: H.P. Lovecraft

Category: Fiction, Horror, Science Fiction (?)

Review: I actually picked up this book on a whim. I had been browsing and this book was in the bargain section of Books-a-Million or Barnes & Noble. So I decided to get it along with The Picture of Dorian Grey, which I have yet to read and review. I had been putting it off, but finally I decided to read it a few days ago and I am glad I finally did. In this book were five of the authors stories: Dagon, The Call of the Cthulhu, The Dunwich Horror, The Whisperer in the Darkness, and The Haunter of the Dark.

What I like about these five stories are that they all connect to each other without sharing the same story. My favorite stories were The Dunwich Horror and The Whisperer in the Darkness. What connects the stories are these creatures from Outer Space and they are related in the stories in different ways. In The Dunwich Horror, for example, the creatures are brought to Earth through use of Witchcraft and The Necronomicon. In The Whisperer in the Darkness, the creatures have been on the Earth for a long time and supposedly want to be friendly by taking one of the characters to new planets by taking only his brain, hence the science fiction means.

This is what I loved about the author’s work. Everything was different, but connected. It is very hard to find works like that anymore. At first when I began, I thought it to be a little boring, to be honest. The stories are written in first person and I don’t often read stories in first person, but I couldn’t help to be drawn in as I continued reading. I definitely recommend to take the time and read these stories. If you’re not sure about buying the book, get it from your local library.

Rating: *****

 

Leave a Reply

