The Picture of Dorian Gray

41ypa-yhqyl

Title: The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

Category: Fiction, Classics

Review: The Picture of Dorian Gray wasn’t exactly what I thought it would turn out to be. I initially thought it would be more of a horror type book. However, this book was nothing of the sort. I had heard of this book and since it is a classic I wanted to read it. I think it was written well by the author and I kept reading it because I hoped that it would have something to do with horror. This book, in summary, is basically about three men. The main character is Dorian Gray. Dorian is introduced to a friend of the painter of his portrait, who basically tells him that beauty is everything and that spurs Dorian to wish that the portrait takes on the sins that he commits and his age. It tells of the life of Dorian and the sins he commits. It tells of how he hides away the portrait to avoid looking at it. And, finally, it tells us of how he kills himself and the portraits sins transfer to him and it takes back the look of Dorian’s younger self. I found it a bit tedious because I just wanted to turn ahead and see what happened to the character. However, I always say when I start a book I always finish it. I don’t advise you to buy it. If you wish to read it, borrow it from your local library first. If you like it, then buy it.

Rating: **

2 thoughts on “The Picture of Dorian Gray

  1. I felt the same as you going into the book; I thought it was going to be a horror, and for the first part of the book, it was quite heavy on art / philosophy and I became disappointed. However, I definitely feel the book took a more Gothic turn and after that I was captivated. I wrote my own book review of The Picture of Dorian Gray recently, if you’d like to read it: https://readandreview2016.wordpress.com/2017/01/02/read-and-review-the-picture-of-dorian-gray/ Thanks for sharing your opinion! 🙂

    • Thank you so much for the comment. I appreciate it and totally agree. Somehow I just think this book was really not impressive. It just did not make my list as a book to read again. Thank you again.

Leave a Reply

