Killing Lincoln

51vln5td4al

Title: Killing Lincoln by Bill O’Reilly and Martin Dugard

Category: Nonfiction, History, Civil War

Review: I’ve never read or watched much of Bill O’Reilly, but I absolutely loved reading this book. The only time I had to put this down was when I was starting to get sleepy (not by the book). This book is one of those that will catch your attention from the moment you start reading it. It starts a few days before the surrender of the South then progresses from there. It is almost like reading a fiction story. The authors take you through the minds of mostly Lincoln and Booth. However, there are other figures that he features like Robert E. Lee and Ulysses S. Grant and many more throughout the book that I didn’t know about. He progresses to the moment that Lincoln was shot by Booth and afterwards until Booth was shot. During all this its as if you see the thoughts and emotions of the two men. The chapters were short and there were various pictures scattered throughout the book. I think in part that was what kept me interested. The before, during, and afterwards of what happened. I definitely recommend that you read this book. You’ll love it. Even if you are not a fan of the Civil War era, which I am not in particular, I think you will change your mind once you read this book.

Rating: *****

Leave a Reply

